Daily Email

Sunday, April 18, 2010

Spirituality: Five Freedoms of True Love

Virginia Satir speaks of five freedoms which accrue when one is loved uncondtionally. These freedoms involve our basic powers: (1) the power to perceive, (2) the power to love (choose and desire), (3) the power to emote, (4) the power to think and express, and (5) the power to envision or imagine.

When we are whole and fully self-accepting, we deal more with reality than with the "shoulds" of life. We have been "should upon" far too often in life. When we are loved unconditionallly, we can accept ourselves just as we are. Self-acceptance is personal power. It means that we are integrated and unified. All of our energy is centered and flows outward.

No comments:

Post a Comment